Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya is Real School of Nepal 2016

Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya is Real School of Nepal 2016

KATHMANDU: Leaving behind other nine regional champions of Real School of Nepal 2016, Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya from Narayanghat has become the winner of the national-level competition.

In the grand finale held in DAV School, Jawalakhel on September 16, the school won the ‘Real School of Nepal 2016’ title along with a cash prize of Rs 100,000.

Susma Adhikari, Sophiya Dallakoti, Manish Chaudhary, Shisir Shrestha, Kirtagya Thapa and Buddhiman Gurung excelled in different categories to make their school the ultimate winner of the coveted title. Each of these students received a laptop at the prize distribution ceremony held on the same day.

GEMS School from Lalitpur (title winner of 2015) were the first-runner up and won a cash prize of Rs 50,000. All its participating students got Rs 5,000 each. The second runner-up — Motherland Higher Secondary School from Pokhara — won a cash prize of Rs 25,000, and each student was awarded Rs 3,000.

Rukma Shamsher Rana, Managing Director of Dabur Nepal, distributed the prizes to the title winners and congratulated all participating teams. “I believe this competition should be friendly but fierce, and I’m glad to be a witness to this year’s competition,” Rana shared at the prize distribution ceremony, further adding, “The good part of the competition is that the number of participating schools and students is increasing every year.”

In the grand finale, 10 schools took part in competitions of senior and junior categories — extempore, football juggling, dance, 3 minutes to fame, painting and score the real goal. They also competed in three new categories. In one such contest, the students were required to create a collage using Real tetra-packs. Karnali bridge, Pashupatinath temple, fun park, watch, tower with national flag et cetera were some of the items made by the students.


Media personality Prabhat Rimal conducted a quiz contest on the same day.

‘Real School of Nepal 2016’ was launched on May 17. The competition was held in different cities across the nation — Butwal, Biratnagar, Dhangadhi, Nepalgunj, Pokhara, Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Narayanghat. The participating schools competed in the regional finals, and 10 regional champions then competed in the grand finale.

Judges — actress Mithila Sharma, artist Kiran Manandhar, football icon Surendra Tamang, and Rimal judged — the entire competitions.

Individual winners

Senior category (VIII, IX and X)

  • Extempore: Gunjan Agrawal, Araniko Higher Secondary School
  • Dance: Anand Kandel, Children Environment School
  • Football Juggling: Bikey Maharjan, Dallu Awashiya Vidyalaya

Junior category (V, VI, VII)

  • Painting: Alvina Thapa, Motherland Higher Secondary School
  • 3 Minutes to Fame: Shisir Shrestha, Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya
  • Score the Real Goal: Ankit Raskoti, Paramount English Boarding HS School

Winners of added streams

  • So You Think You Can Score: Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya
  • Collage: Sainik Awasiya Mahavidyalaya
  • Quiz: Jaya Bageshwari Higher Secondary School

source:  The Himalayan Times.